Data Monitoring

image 38

Equality and Diversity – Data Monitoring

The Trust routinely collects equality data on patients and staff members and uses this information to ensure that its services and employment opportunities are fair and accessible to all.

To help organisations access and improve their performance in service design and delivery, under the Equality Act 2010 and the Public Sector General Equality Duty, organisations must publish sufficient information to demonstrate that, in the exercise of its functions, it has a due regard to:

  • Eliminate discrimination, harassment and victimisation.
  • Advance equality of opportunity between people who share a protected characteristic and those who do not; and to
  • Foster good relations between people who share a relevant protected characteristic and those who do not.
  • In order to achieve the aims of the general equality duty described above, the Trust must demonstrate that it has a good understanding of the impact that policies, services and practice have on people with different protected characteristics*. An important way for the organisation to achieve this is through the collection and analysis of equality information, including information on engagement with people from protected characteristics where relevant.

Therefore, equality data reports have been created for patients and staff, as follows:

The reports are available for download below, along with data spreadsheets covering all the protected characteristics. Where there are gaps in the data provided, this is explained within the body of the reports.

The Trust has also identified from assessment of the current provision of data and undertaking the self-assessment as part of the NHS Equality Delivery System objectives for the next 4 years. These are also available below.

If you would like more information regarding the reports, please contact the Equality and Engagement Team on 0161 604 5893 or email:

Protected characteristics are:

Age, disability, ethnicity (race), gender reassignment, sex, religion and belief, sexual orientation, pregnancy and maternity and marriage and civil partnerships.