Our Commissioners

image 44

We provide a range of secondary care acute services on behalf of our four local Clinical Commissioning Groups (CCGs) - NHS Oldham; NHS Heywood, Middleton and Rochdale; NHS Bury and NHS Manchester. 

In the case of NHS Manchester, our services including acute secondary and a range of community services relate to the north of the city of Manchester only. 

Clinical Commissioning Groups (CCGs) are NHS organisations set up by the Health and Social Care Act 2012 to organise the delivery of NHS services in England.

CCGs came into force in April 2013 and replaced the former Primary Care Trusts (PCTs). These organisations are led by local family doctors (GPs) and commission services for their local populations. They are responsible for deciding what services are commissioned and how local taxpayers’ money is spent on healthcare services.

Our vision of quality of care is delivered in partnership with our partner agencies and particularly our local commissioners (PCTs) who purchase our services from us and with whom we agree each year areas of quality improvement under the contracting for quality process. These areas of quality improvement payments are known as Commissioning for Quality and Innovation or CQUINs.