About Us

nurse roh1

The Pennine Acute Hospitals Trust serves the communities of North Manchester, Bury, Rochdale and Oldham, along with the surrounding towns and villages. This area is collectively known as the North-East sector of Greater Manchester and has a population of around 820,000.

The Trust provides a range of elective emergency, district general services, some specialist services and operates from four main hospital sites and community clinics. The four main hospital sites are:

From 2017, the Pennine Acute Hospitals NHS Trust along with Salford Royal Foundation Trust became part of the Northern Care Alliance NHS Group. The NCA is made up of four new Care Organisations, which are; Bury/Rochdale, Oldham, Salford  and North Manchester.

To learn more about the individual Care Organisations and their structure - click here

Top Ten Facts

Last year the Trust:

  • Spent over £500 million (about £1.5m per day) on providing healthcare services for local people.
  • Invested £8.1 million on capital programmes and in maintaining and improving the physical estate and on smaller projects to develop frontline clinical services. 
  • Spent £4.0 million on medical and scientific equipment and £6.8 million on information technology to support front line clinical services. 
  • Saw 317,347 Type 1, 2 and 3 A&E (urgent care) cases.
  • Saw 688,262 outpatients, 117,656 total inpatients and 73,835 day cases.
  • Delivered 9,785 babies
  • Made 152,551 visits to patients in their own homes to provide treatment and care.
  • Issued over 1 million items from pharmacy to inpatients, outpatients, patient discharges and ward stocks.
  • Re-processed / sterilised 223,905 instrument tray sets and 107,179 single instruments
  • Provided over 1.6 million patient meals.