Rochdale Eye consultant named Doctor of the Year at Pennine Acute Trust Staff Awards

IMG 4645MrHashmi
Rochdale Eye consultant named Doctor of the Year at Pennine Acute Trust Staff Awards
08 December 2016

A CONSULTANT ophthalmologist and clinical director based at Rochdale Infirmary, who has been described as being “a consultant like no other”, has been named Doctor of the Year Award at The Pennine Acute Hospital NHS Trust’s 7th annual staff awards event.

The Staff Awards 2016 consisted of 14 award categories which recognised the very best of patient care, skill, dedication and innovation across the Trust’s 9,000 staff who work at its four hospitals and across community services.

At the final awards dinner at the Sheridan Suite in Manchester, Trust Chief Executive Sir David Dalton and Chairman Jim Potter, announced that Mr Tanveer Hashmi had won the Doctor of the Year Award.

Mr Hashmi  was awarded the gong for providing excellent leadership and inspiring others; he cares significantly for patients and wants to work in an exemplary service.  He has single handedly validated a follow-up waiting list of 2000 patients and ensured that patients are added to lists to be seen by the department. 

Described as always wanting to offer patients the best possible care, he regularly works his annual leave around operating days so that his patients undergoing cataract surgery are not kept waiting any longer than is necessary. He provides a quality service, working with the booking and scheduling department to reduce patient waiting times and is constantly suggesting ways in which the service can be improved.

Mr Hashmi said: “I was thrilled to receive the accolade of being named the Trust’s Doctor of the Year.  It’s important to stress though that the award reflects a team effort from all the ophthalmology staff at Rochdale Infirmary.  Without everyone’s hard work we would not be able to achieve the best outcomes for all our patients.”

Trust Chief Executive, Sir David Dalton, said: “The Trust’s staff awards is a wonderful celebration of the great things our staff do and achieve, and an important formal recognition of our staff and volunteers who have not only lived and delivered the Trust values, but who have gone the extra mile and shown exceptional skills, care and compassion. This is a highlight in the Trust’s calendar to recognise the efforts, contribution and achievements of staff at all levels across our hospitals and community services. This event is a fitting way to say well done and thank you.”

Trust Chairman Mr Jim Potter added: “All of our staff who are award winners represent the very best of what this Trust and the NHS stands for and the values we hold, putting the patient at the centre of everything we do. The award categories reinforce not only the Trust’s core values of being quality driven, responsible and compassionate, but also reflect on what we hold dear, namely teamwork, innovation, quality of care, leadership, safety and work with our local healthcare partners.”

The  specialist Eye Unit and Ophthalmology Service opened at Rochdale Infirmary in January 2014 after a £1.8 million investment. The unit provides a comprehensive ophthalmology service for both planned and emergency eye care for Rochdale borough patients and patients across Bury, Rossendale and parts of East Lancashire, Tameside and Glossop.

The Eye Unit is a ‘state of the art’ environment providing a full out-patient service, Pre-op assessment clinic, a Day Case unit which has two co-located theatres, three wards, two for adults plus a dedicated children’s ward, where a variety of surgical procedures take place.

The Staff Awards event was fully paid for and supported by a number of sponsors including: Vinci Construction UK Ltd; Mitie; Arnold Clark Vehicle Management; Atlas Diagnostics; Capsticks; Hill Dickinson; WiFi SPARK; NH Case; Corporate Design Company; ANS; APS and G4S Facilities Management. Trophies sourced by Lennard Trophies.

The Doctor of the Year Award was sponsored by Arnold Clark Vehicle Management.

A heart failure lead specialist nurse Anne Sharrocks based at The Royal Oldham Hospital was named Nurse of the Year, with Rebecca Chadwick, a clinical specialist physiotherapist, winning the Allied Health Professional of the Year Award for leading the development of a rehabilitation strategy within the critical care units within the Trust.   

The full list of award winners and more details can be found on the Trust website at www.pat.nhs.ukhere.

Pictured: Mr Tanveer Hashmi – winner of the Doctor of the Year Award