Our Teams

Research & Innovation Staff

The Research & Innovation (R&I) department supports hundreds of research studies across our care organisations each year, helping to improve diagnosis, care and treatment in the NHS. We have a dedicated Research Management & Support (RM&S) team providing comprehensive advice and support services and research delivery teams to make sure our patients are offered the opportunity to take part in research and to provide clinical and administrative support to Principal Investigators.

RM&S team for PAT and SRFT

Professor Steve Woby, Director of R&I Operations

E: steve.woby@srft.nhs.uk T: 0161 206 5235 (65235)

Katie Doyle, Research and Innovation Manager

E: katie.doyle@srft.nhs.uk T: 0161 206 3127

Maureen Daniels,  Research and Innovation Support Officer

E: Maureen.daniels@srft.nhs.uk T: 0161 206 7051

Helen Moffitt-Adams, Research & Development Support Officer

E: helen.moffitt@srft.nhs.uk T: 0161 206 4705

Sophia Boydell, Research & Innovation Support Officer

E: sophia.boydell@srft.nhs.uk T: 0161 206 1449

Lucy Ford, Research & Innovation Administrator

E: lucy.ford@srft.nhs.uk T: 0161 206 4703


Cancer & Haematology

North Manchester General Hospital

Tracey Hodgkiss, Senior Clinical Research Nurse

E: tracey.hodgkiss@pat.nhs.uk  T: 0161 604 5259 (45259)

Kirstie Smith, Clinical Research Nurse

E: kirstie.smith@pat.nhs.uk T: 0161 627 8165 (48165)

Joanne Rothwell, Clinical Research Nurse

E: joanne.rothwell@pat.nhs.uk T: 0161 918 4975 (44975)

Michelle Bruce, Clinical Research Nurse

E: michelle.bruce@pat.nhs.uk  T: 0161 918 4227 (44227)

Lisa Cooper, Research Nurse

E: lisa.cooper@pat.nhs.uk T: 0161 918 4706 (44706)

Heather Sykes, Research Nurse

E: heather.sykes@pat.nhs.uk

Karen Connolly, Research Assistant

E: karen.connolly@pat.nhs.uk T: 0161 918 4227 (44227)

The Royal Oldham Hospital

Lyndsay Scarratt, Senior Clinical Research Nurse

E: Lyndsay.scarratt@pat.nhs.uk T: 0161 627 8165 (78165)

Dawn Johnstone, Clinical Research Nurse

E: dawn.johnstone@pat.nhs.uk T: 0161 627 8165 (78165)

Amy Slack, Clinical Research Nurse

E: amy.slack@pat.nhs.uk T: 0161 627 8166 (78165)

Denise Hadfield, Clinical Research Nurse

E: denise.hadfield@pat.nhs.uk T: 0161 627 8165 (78165)

Joanne Johnson, Senior Clinical Research Administrator

E: joanne.johnson2@pat.nhs.uk T: 0161 627 8165 (78165)


Children, genetics, reproductive health and childbirth

North Manchester General Hospital & The Royal Oldham Hospital

Grainne O’Connor,, Senior Clinical Research Nurse

E: grainne.o’connor@pat.nhs.uk T: 0161 627 1910 (71910)

Mfon Sam, Clinical Research Nurse

E: mfon.sam@pat.nhs.uk T: 0161 604 5876 (45876) 

Chloe Rishton, Clinical Research Nurse

E: chloe.rishton@pat.nhs.uk T: 0161 656 1434 (61434) 

Rachel Newport, Clinical Research Nurse

E: rachel.newport@pat.nhs.uk T: 0161 627 1910 (71910)   

Zainab Sarwar, Research Midwife

E:  zainab.sarwar@pat.nhs.uk T: 0161 778 5318 (75318)

Jenny Philbin, Research Assistant

E: Jennifer.Philbin@pat.nhs.uk T: 0161 627 1910 (71910)   

Bernadette Holt, Clinical Research Administrator

E: bernadette.holt@pat.nhs.uk T: 0161 627 1910 (71910)


Diabetes, cardiovascular disease, metabolic and endocrine disorders, renal disorders

North Manchester General Hospital

Deborah Hall, Diabetes Research Manager

E: deborah.hall@pat.nhs.uk T: 07790809925

Joanne Shaw, Clinical Research Nurse

E: joanne.shaw@pat.nhs.uk T: 07790809925

Muhammad Warsi, Clinical Research Nurse

E: muhammad.warsi@pat.nhs.uk T: 07790809925

Ruth Totton, Research Assistant

E: ruth.totton@pat.nhs.uk T: 0161 918 4718 (44718) 

Laura Durrans, Clinical Trials Assistant

E: laura.durrans@pat.nhs.uk T: 0161 918 3072 (43072)

The Royal Oldham Hospital

Karen Hallett, Senior Clinical Research Nurse

E: karen.hallett@pat.nhs.uk  T: 0161 627 8702 (78702)

Carolyn Corbett, Clinical Research Nurse

E: carolyn.corbett@pat.nhs.uk T: 0161 778 5318 (75318)

Sheila Munt, Clinical Research Nurse

E: sheila.munt@pat.nhs.uk T: 0161 778 5318 (75318)

Louise Morby, Clinical Research Nurse

E: louise.morby@pat.nhs.uk T: 0161 778 5318 (75318)

Susan Dermody, Clinical Research Nurse

E: susan.dermody@pat.nhs.uk T: 0161 778 5318 (75318)

Mariya Barakova, Clinical Trials Assistant

E: mariya.barakova@pat.nhs.uk T: 0161 778 5694 (75694)

Fairfield General Hospital

Denise McSorland, Senior Clinical Research Nurse

E: denise.mcsorland@pat.nhs.uk T: 0161 720 2378 (42378)

Biji John, Clinical Research Nurse

E: bijili.john@pat.nhs.uk T: 0161 778 2709 (82709)


Dementias and neurodegeneration (DeNDRoN), mental health and neurological disorders

Fairfield General Hospital

Denise McSorland, Senior Research Nurse

E: denise.mcsorland@pat.nhs.uk T: 0161 778 3804 (83804)

Julie Melville, Senior Clinical Research Nurse

E: julie.melville@pat.nhs,uk T: 0161 778 3804 (83804)


Gastroenterology, anaesthesia/ peri-operative medicine and pain management, critical care, injuries/emergencies, surgery, ENT, ophthalmology, respiratory disorders, hepatology

The Royal Oldham  Hospital

Karen Hallett, Senior Clinical Research Nurse

E: karen.hallett@pat.nhs.uk  T: 0161 627 8702 (78702)

Carolyn Corbett, Clinical Research Nurse

E: carolyn.corbett@pat.nhs.uk T: 0161 778 5318 (75318)

Sheila Munt, Clinical Research Nurse

E: sheila.munt@pat.nhs.uk T: 0161 778 5318 (75318)

Louise Morby, Clinical Research Nurse

E: louise.morby@pat.nhs.uk T: 0161 778 5318 (75318)

Susan Dermody, Clinical Research Nurse

E: susan.dermody@pat.nhs.uk T: 0161 778 5318 (75318)

Mariya Barakova, Clinical Trials Assistant

E: mariya.barakova@pat.nhs.uk T: 0161 778 5694 (75694)

Fairfield General Hospital

Denise McSorland, Senior Clinical Research Nurse

E: denise.mcsorland@pat.nhs.uk T: 0161 778 3804 (83804)

Joe Ogor, Clinical Research Nurse

E: jonathan.ogor@pat.nhs.uk T: 0161 918 8720 (88720)

Patricia Jacob, Clinical Research Nurse

E: patricia.jacob@pat.nhs.uk T: 0161 778 2968 (82968)

Alison Meadows, Clinical Research Nurse

E: alison.meadows@pat.nhs.uk T: 0161 918 8720 (88720)

Biji John, Clinical Research Nurse

E: bijili.john@pat.nhs.uk T: 0161 778 2709 (82709)

Ruth Craddock, Research Assistant

E: ruth.craddock@pat.nhs.uk T: 0161 918 8720 (88720)

Asad Javed, Clinical Research Administrator

E: asad.javed@pat.nhs.uk T: 0161 918 8717 (88717)


Infectious Diseases

North Manchester General Hospital

Cynthia Murphy, Manager ID Research Dept & HIV

E: cynthia.murphy@pat.nhs.uk T: 0161 720 2218 (42218)

Gabriella Lindergard, Lead Research Nurse (ID)

E: gabriella.lindergard@pat.nhs.uk T: 0161 918 4649 (44649)

Valerie George, Senior Clinical Research Nurse

E: valerie.george@pat.nhs.uk T: 0161 918 4649 (44649)Margaret Bevan, Clinical Research Nurse

E: margaret.bevan@pat.nhs.uk T: 0161 720 2060 (42060)

Jacinta Guerin, Clinical Trials Assistant

E: Jacinta.guerin@pat.nhs.uk T: 0161 918 4061 (44061)


Musculoskeletal, primary care, ageing, oral and dental health, health services and research delivery, public health and dermatology

North Manchester General Hospital

Denise McSorland, Senior Research Nurse

E: denise.mcsorland@pat.nhs.uk T: 0161 778 3804 (83804)

Julie Melville, Senior Clinical Research Nurse

E: julie.melville@pat.nhs,uk T: 0161 778 3804 (83804)

Lorraine Lock, Clinical Research Nurse

E: lorraine.lock@pat.nhs.uk T: 0161 918 8721


Stroke

Fairfield General Hospital

Julie Melville, Senior Clinical Research Nurse

E: julie.melville@pat.nhs,uk T: 0161 778 3804 (83804)

Pamela Bradley, Clinical Research Nurse

E: pamela.bradley@pat.nhs.uk T: 0161 778 2005 (82005)

Claire Carty, Research Assistant

E: claire.carty@pat.nhs.uk T: 0161 778 2005 (82005)


Other Specialities

North Manchester General Hospital

Dionne Dervin, Clinical Research Nurse

E: Dionne.dervin@pat.nhs.uk T: 0161 604 5877 (45877)

Sanniah Hussain, Research Practitioner

E: sanniah.hussain@pat.nhs.uk T: 0161 604 5877 (45877)

Fairfield General Hospital

Dionne Dervin, Clinical Research Nurse

E: Dionne.dervin@pat.nhs.uk T: 0161 604 5877 (45877)

Linda Johnson, Research Practitioner

E: linda.johnson@pat.nhs.uk T: 0161 778 2005 (82005)

Rosane Joseph, Research Nurse

E: rosane.joseph@pat.nhs.uk T: 0161 778 3930 (83930)

Sanniah Hussain, Research Practitioner

E: sanniah.hussain@pat.nhs.uk T: 0161 604 5877 (45877)

Asad Javed, Research Assistant

E: asad.javed@pat.nhs.uk T: 0161 918 8717 (88717)